Governor’s Tourism Cup draws 105 golfers

A total of 105 golfers competed in the Inaugural Governor’s Tourism Cup Golf Tournament held last Saturday on the east course of Laolao Bay Golf & Resort.
Participants joined the six flights with the Top 3 finishers in each division receiving prizes. William Retardo won the Championship Flight and was joined by David Largent and Jeff Taylor at the podium. Other Top 3 finishers in their respective competitions were A Flight’s Lee Dong Kyu, Joey Dela Cruz, and Alex Sablan; B Flight’s Tony Guerrero, Lito Mendoza, and Carl Hocog; C Flight’s Mario Taitano, Glenn Maratita, and Diego Benavente; Seniors’s Alex Tudela, Manny Mangarero, and John Cepeda; and Ladies’ Masayo Miyamoto, Lorraine Babauta, and Noriko Togawa.
“Thanks to all the participants, sponsors and volunteers for your support and most especially for braving Mother Nature’s blessings throughout the day. This is the first of what I imagine will be an annual tournament,” tournament director James Nelson said in a press release.
“Thanks to Gov. Ralph Torres and the Marianas Visitors Authority (MVA) for hosting a successful event. Lastly, thanks to the Tournament Committee, Vicky Benavente, Martin Duenas, the MVA staff, Ivan Blanco, and Shirley Camacho-Ogumoro for their invaluable assistance and hard work in putting this tournament together. I’m sure everyone involved will look forward to the 2nd Governor’s Tourism Cup Golf Tournament in May 2017,” Nelson added.
The tournament was hosted by the Office of the Governor and MVA to help raise funds for tourism education through the Marianas Tourism Education Council.
“We are pleased with the great turnout for the first annual Governor’s Tourism Cup,” MVA managing director Chris Concepcion said. “We thank all our winners and participants for supporting the MTEC’s efforts at educating our youth on the importance of tourism. The MVA team will continue to emphasize that tourism is everybody’s business, so we appreciate the support of the entire community going forward.”
“The Marianas Tourism Education Council will continue to engage students to highlight the tourism industry’s social, cultural, and economic value,” MTEC chair Vicky Benavente said. “I especially want to express our thanks to director James Nelson for his awesome leadership with organizing this fundraising event for MTEC.”
The event was supported by the following: Major sponsors’s Bank of Guam, Bridge Capital, DFS Saipan Ltd., IT&E; Classic sponsors’ Pacific Islands Club, Joeten Superstore, Best Sunshine Inc., Hyatt Regency Saipan; Classic donors’ Alter City Group, PHI Pharmacy, Saipan Shipping Co., IP&E, Tan Siu Lin Foundation, JET Holding Co., Island Training Solutions, Herman’s Modern Bakery; Hole-in-one sponsors’ Joeten Motors, Pacifica Insurance, Triple J Motors, AK Saipan, IT&E; and Beverage sponsors MARPAC-Budweiser, Saipan Ice & Water, PTC-Miller.
Scroll to Top